"People are afraid of what they don't understand." -Jonathan Kent- (Man of Steel, 2013)

Written Analysis 1

The topic I have selected is rap music and the ideas and beliefs it puts into the minds of the listeners. I have always listened to this genre of music. My mother always told me not to, that it was bad, but I never really knew what she was meaning. I will give in to say that there are some awfully derogatory things said in today’s rap music. However, I can’t concede that, that makes the song “bad”. Personally, I listen to the actual music. I’m in it for the beat, the melody, etc. Yes, some of the words hit-home, or are funny, or even are interesting to think about, but that’s about it.

            The concept of myths applies to my topic in almost every way. According to statistics, “nearly eighty percent of rap music on the top ten list these days are violent and/or derogatory” (Davey D, 2006). Yes, it is a fact that in most rap songs they talk about drugs, sex, violence, or all of them combined. One of the most common ones is the male artists talking about women and calling them “hoes” and “bitches” while the few female artists that there are, are talking about how they want a good man. This falls into the romance myth.

            The wealth myth plays a big part here too. I can’t even recall the number of songs I have heard that have mentioned “gettin’ money” and “married to the money”. I do find that aspect irritating. They make it as though you have to have all this money to be happy and lead a decent life. WRONG! Chances are these artists who make these claims are sitting there with all their money and that’s all they have. They have no true sense of meaning in their life; but hey they have money so it’s all fine and dandy.

            I have gained so much just through this one analysis that it is mind blowing. Will it cause me to change my music and listening preferences; no. My reasoning for that is because I have an understanding of what is real and what isn’t. I don’t succumb to the idea that music “brainwashes people”. In fact, most of the time when I am listening to something I think to myself “that’s not the way it really is” or “no, it’s actually this way…” It was good to look into it a little deeper though.

 

 

References

Davey D. (2006). Is rap actually music or is it a bad influence? WordPress Blog. Retrieved from http://hiphopandpolitics.wordpress.com/2006/08/23/is-rap-actually-music-or-is-it-a-bad-influence/

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

